What to look for in a used stihl saw?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WASTATE

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello, currently I am looking at several stihl 26's pro and non pro on craigslist. I want to buy one of these because that is what we use at work and I dont want to take a step down. I am not very experienced with saws and only mildly mechanically minded.

I was just wondering if there is any advice anyone can give me when I go and look to buy used saws.

My coworker told me to check the compression before I even try to start it by pulling on the cord, the saws I am looking at are in the $260-300 range, does this seem about right for a 026?

thanks!

Pull the muffler and check the condition of the piston and cylinder, any scoring is bad. The best way to check compression is with a tester, make sure it has a Shrader valve on it. Look at the condition of the plastic, check the air filter to see if it is in place and clean, check the condition of the fins on the cylinder.

Cheap saws are out there, this 026 set me back $45.00.

Stihl026018.jpg

That advice is a good start. Without the decompression button engaged, the rope should be pretty tight and jerk strong a couple times as it lengthens.

Part 2 - If it's a local seller who's a decent guy with nothing to hide, he should probably have no issue with you asking to pull the muffler so you can see if the cylinder and piston are clean, wet, and not scored. Make sure you bring a couple Torx drivers with you to remove the muffler bolts. A flashlight helps too when looking inside the exhaust.