Climbing, How to Learn???

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

J_Ashley

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
First of all let me say I'm 19 years old. I've been doing firewood cutting for a couple years now and am very comfortable using a chainsaw for bucking and felling etc.

However I've had to turn down some side jobs because of the condition of the trees. Now, I'm smart enough to say no when I realize I'm not capable of doing a job safely. So I'm sure someone will say, "Let the professionals worry about that." Don't worry, thats what I'll do for the meantime.

I am wanting to 'learn the ropes' of tree climbing. However I've come to the painful realization that I know absolutely nothing about it, and I'm not about to tie a rope around my belt and hike up a tree in order to kill myself.

The truth is, I have no idea where to start. Some have suggested I should get a job for a tree service. The problem is I work full time now on top of another part time job. I've purchased the Tree Climber's Companion, but even reading a manual doesn't instill a whole lot of confidence when putting my life 'on a line' so to speak. I'm really looking for some help here. I know how niave this sounds, so please, be gentle.

Justin

J_Ashley said:
First of all let me say I'm 19 years old. The truth is, I have no idea where to start.Justin
You start here.

You've come to the right place. It would help us help you if you could put all your gear in one place and take a picture. It is worth a thousand words.

And don't worry, we really like Newbies, especially ones that admit their limitations and and are smart enough to ask to be helped. We'll help you.

We have some cultural ground rules you will need to respect. 1) We care for trees, so we don't use spikes on any tree except a takedown, 2) We practice safety at all times.