Precission Felling with Laser

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rigger

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Good afternoon Gents,

I would like to share and pass on a few tip's that we have used that may be usefull to some of you.

I am really an arborist OR tree surgeon (whatever you prefer) as my background has mainly been in tree preservation. However contrary to the belief of some! many arborists are very qualified in heavy technicle removals ie; precise felling.

A couple of years ago we had an exceptionaly tight situation with no other alternative that was feasable. The night befor I laid awake worrying about getting this one right. O'h yes I rely on the saws built-in sights a lot but at a 150' out we still had very little wiggle room, I needed this one to be spot on.
I recalled watching my uncles use a "Gunning Stick", having no time to make one, I came up with the following idea.

Whilst loading the gear the next morning I also took from my workshop a 4' ruler, a "T" square, and a cheap laser thing.
After setting up this tree I placed the 4' ruler square into the back of the wedge\sink\gob\pie\etc. found the center point and laid the "T" square at 90° from center, I then butted the laser sight along this line...... PERFECT.
It did take us a good 10mins. to locate the little red dot 180feet out from the stump. I have just taken this pic to give you an idea on how to set it up.

attachment.php

This is the tree I first used a laser sight on: Devils Den, Posey, CA<BR>
attachment.php
<BR>
Cleaning out the back of the cut.<BR>
attachment.php
<BR>
Ready for the backcut, left to right- Jason (son), Brandon, Carol (wife).<BR>
attachment.php

The rope above and below the felling cut is a safety, as we must fell this tree across a low stump and a small ravine (creek), we needed to minimize and control butt bounce due to close power pole/bridge/cabin.