Overthinking Joncutter g5800 bar choice

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Good afternoon all and thank you in advance to all who take the time to read and respond.

I'm not a professional. Just a guy with some acreage and a house that due to life and such has started to get out of control. I'm finally in a position to start clearing some fields and harvesting the dead wood the gypsy moths have provided. I have, well all I guess are old, an old Husqvarna 365, Stihl 025, Efco 132s top handle, and an Echo 310 at another more suburban house.

I felt like I could use another transitional saw for lack of a better term that could live at either house and be of use so I decided to get a G5800. The saw is supposedly 3/8ths pitch .058 gauge. I've also read it is a K095 bar pattern. I was all set to order a bar when I looked at what Farmertec "recommends" and saw a 20" bar with 68 drive link chain combo. This is what threw me down the rabbit hole and I haven't hit the bottom yet.

Am I missing something on the pitch/drive link thing or is this a mistake on their part where the bar is actually 18" or the chain is actually 72 drive links? I know sometimes (oftentimes?) the stated CC's of a Chinese chainsaw are overstated so could a 20" bar really be 18". Or is there some special pitch drive link thing I'm unaware of

With all of that being said and after scouring previous posts for answers it doesn't seem I would be doing harm getting a 20" 72 drive link chain. However, from what I've read I wonder about going down to an 18 inch bar or maybe switching the clutch drum out to .325? I don't plan on doing any engine mods to start with but you people are a bad influence and I can't rule out what may happen in the future.