New to the chainsaw world

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chase

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hi guys...I'm fairly new to the chainsaw thing and was hoping to get some advise. I recently purchased 6.5 acres and need a saw to prepare the ground for building a home. The property has mostly smaller trees which I plan to remove, most of the larger trees will be saved. I will also probably cut an occasional load of firewood as well as use the saw for cleaning up trails, fallen trees, etc. I don't want to be undersawed and regret my decision on a saw purchase. What brand and size/model (bar, hp, cc, etc.) would you guys recommend? I've always been told Stihl is the best followed by Husqvarna??? What are your opinions on the Stihl MS250?

Thanks....

Dolmar Red or Makita Blue

Check out Dolmar saws. Good products for reasonable prices. German built and engineered. For a light saw, 8 lbs, PS-401, $249.00 at Amick's Superstore (sponsor). You might find a blue Makita badged Dolmar saw cheaper. DCS 540 or 510 either Dolmar red or Makita blue. Dolmar Screaming 4 hp Chainsaw the PS-5100s is under $400.00, only in Dolmar red.
The 401 is appealing, low price, German quality, light weight and good power for size. I need to get me one!

http://www.amickssuperstore.com/Dolmar_Chainsaws_s/163.htm

There is a recent thread discussing this very matter... 250/270/280 - all good saws... with the 280 very good.

My 2c: and particularly as you are new to the chainsaw world - don't mail order... buy from a local supporting dealer... and that's NOT a box store. Brand is less important.

Last edited:
There is local Dolmar dealers in Ohio. If you need help, just shoot your zip and I will hit the dealer locater for you. Since it sounds you may need dealer support for whatever you buy, whether Stihl, Husqvarna, Dolmar, Echo, Solo, Shiny, .