046 vs. 066

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jwoods

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I've been viewing this site for a couple months, now I'm really hooked. Question: Does the 046 and 066 have interchangeable bars, or does the 066 interchange with an 088? Thanks,

Joe

Kinda Sort of

066 and below use bars with a 12 mm slot and above use a 14mm slot. GBBAR and others have a sleeve which goes on the bar bolts allowing the larger slotted bar for the 14 mm bar to fit the smaller saws. I just bought some and they cost $5.50 for 10.
They are in essence 1mm wire looped into a circle creating a sleeve and causing the bar bolt to be 2mm wider.

Don,
What a great piece of info, I have an older Jonsered with 10mm and a 372xp with smaller studs, I assume 8mm but haven’t checked. I will check into the spacers so the bars can also be interchangeable.

Thanks,

Rob
:D

I'd be interested in one (or several) of those sleeves that would fit an Echo 3400. I can't run Stihl bars cause they don't fit, and don't care for the Oregon bars that come stock. Gotta go out and put a tape measure on it to know the bolt size.

Funny twisted wire thing

Steve here....Ya know, my old Poulan 4000 had one of those on it's bar, over the bolts when i bought it new. Always put it back on when I cleaned it. Never new what it was for.

Steve

Don,
Since we are asking specifically, I'm sure it's ok (if not, Darin can blame me). :angel:
Do you have a link or website to GBBAR or someplace that has these lil pieces?:confused:

spacer