Bar pattern usage?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tony Snyder

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
Does anyone know where there is any popularity data on bar pattern,length, pitch and gauge on the net? I just wanna know what to buy for stock. Distributors surely have this info, but they seem to guard it carefully.

Walt what do you know about this industry info?

I'm determined not to accumulate a lot of patterns and lengths that don't move like I had 20 years ago.

I know for sure, you can't hardly sell a McCulloch or Homelite bar anymore. I'm just beginning to relearn pattern commonalities, but I'm having to do it the hard way.

Who is the Oregon distributor for southeast Illinois?

I didn't ask about them, but last time I was at the chainsaw store I've been frequenting lately they had Windsor bars on display that had two sets of tensioner lug holes. I don't know if that meant it was for Stihl/Husky or what, but that sounds like it's up your alley.

I know this: Husky/Jonsered saws have come in two bar mount sizes over the last 10 years or so. Before that some Jonsey saws had the same pattern as Homelite.

AS to Oregon, I bet an E-mail addy is <a href="http://www.oregonchain.com/index.htm"> here </a> someplace, and if they smell some possible sales, an e-mail monday morning may mean a phone call by tuesday night.

In this day and age, you should be able to get a replacement bar next day. I'm fortunate in that in an emergency the local Oregon distributor is only 30 minutes away; If he hasn't got it he can have any currently-catalogued item overnighted to the dealer's door. I bet one of the major brands will be willing to provide you the same sort of service.

Give Oregon a call