Cedar hedge prune pnw december

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NorinRadd

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Well, I have about 15 years experience, own a small hedge pruning business. Sorry I dont know where to post this.

I know it is not ideal to trim cedar hedge in december. Right now im sort of stuck. Temps are about 40c/6 in the day 30c/0 at night. The night/morning is starting to frost. Daytime everything thaws.

If all was frozen 24/7 I would not prune cedar hedge. Right now I still feel its ok but am on the fence. opinions appreciated.

hedge is mature. Very thick green and healthy. Itis just quite hairy right now. I dont want to cause any frost damage on the hedge. But client would like it pruned.
What do you all think? Our winters are quite mild here. Will probably stay above 25deg all winter.

Well, I have about 15 years experience, own a small hedge pruning business. Sorry I dont know where to post this.

I know it is not ideal to trim cedar hedge in december. Right now im sort of stuck. Temps are about 40c/6 in the day 30c/0 at night. The night/morning is starting to frost. Daytime everything thaws.

If all was frozen 24/7 I would not prune cedar hedge. Right now I still feel its ok but am on the fence. opinions appreciated.

hedge is mature. Very thick green and healthy. Itis just quite hairy right now. I dont want to cause any frost damage on the hedge. But client would like it pruned.
What do you all think? Our winters are quite mild here. Will probably stay above 25deg all winter.
You are feeding your family trimming cedar hedges? Amazing. Go trim that hedge, and put some nice presents under the tree........your concerns about the effects on the cedar? Thats just silly, and a google question at best......GO get that cheddar!