Climbing spurs?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cliniford

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Do climbimg spurs have weight limits. I'm in the neighborhood of about 260lbs but would like to try out tree climbing just for some fun, but was wondering if I might be too big for it. If not can you guys recommend a good beginners set. I have zero experience with this but am good friends someone that exibition climbs at our local logging show that could teach me the ropes. He's not a good one to ask about beginner spurs though since his are custom made titanium. Thanks for the help.
Clint

Do climbimg spurs have weight limits. I'm in the neighborhood of about 260lbs but would like to try out tree climbing just for some fun, but was wondering if I might be too big for it. If not can you guys recommend a good beginners set. I have zero experience with this but am good friends someone that exibition climbs at our local logging show that could teach me the ropes. He's not a good one to ask about beginner spurs though since his are custom made titanium. Thanks for the help.
Clint

I'm about your size and I had a set of the climb right aluminum climbers.. they were ok, but flexed a little more than I was comfortable with.the ones I use now are Klien and I love em..IMO as a bigger guy, get steel climbers.

Clint

If you want to climb "... just for some fun..." might I suggest spending your money on a good piece of rope instead of the spurs. Very few of us use spurs "just for fun". Too hard on the trees. Try Dynamic or Static rope climbing. Search DdRT or SRT on this web site.

I was 295 standing on Buckingham spikes and the only problem I experienced was the spike going too deep and getting stuck...

I am just over 300 lbs and use kliens spurs. Like stated before the go in a little deeper, but no problems.
scotty:chainsawguy: