Eager Beaver 2014

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DirtyDan

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello! I am new to chainsaws and have two issues with my new to me McCulloch Eager Beaver 2014.

The first issue it that it will not idle. Once started, it will seemingly rev more aggressively on its own until it shuts off. This last for about 5 seconds. It also seems to let off much more exhaust than it should? Very potent smell. I am comparing this to another Stihl saw.

I wanted to learn how to tinker with saws a bit and bought this one. Allegedly, the seller had recently replaced fuel lines and primer bulb (I have no reason not to believe him).

My second issue is the leaking of oil. It is leaking near where the bar is attached. (Pictures attached below). Assuming it it the bar oil? It drips when running, and consistently oozes when just sitting, not running.

I appreciate everyone's help and patience with a buffoon like me. I am not afraid to take things apart if needed. Please let me know if there is any additional info or photos I can provide. Thanks again.

I hope the photo links work.

Update: After further investigation, the real leak seems to be coming from the muffler. It drips heavily when trying to start (or running), and is a slow ooze when at rest (off). I will try to attach photos again.

Update: After further investigation, the real leak seems to be coming from the muffler. It drips heavily when trying to start (or running), and is a slow ooze when at rest (off). I will try to attach photos again.

Attachments

• 20240706_134906.jpg
    20240706_134906.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 0
  • 20240706_134913.jpg
    20240706_134913.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 0
I'd start by completely disassembling the saw for a more thorough investigation.

Engine racing sounds like and air leak; very likely the crankshaft seal on the PTO side.