im new to climbing and im using the blakes hitch but need some advice

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

voxac30dude

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
i was wondering what other DRT systems can i use? also the more tips and advice to help me learn tree climbing systems faster would help since i live in hawaii and no one here knows how to climb.

Get a hitch climber pulley, 2 auto locking carabiners, and a grizzly spliced bee-line prussik cord from sherrill tree. It's by far the easiest, quickest, and in my opionion best climbing system you can use. look at the treemagineers web site for hitch climber configurations.

First off welcome to the site and good luck with your learning, second of all as everyone is going to mention be safe go slow and try and find someone to learn from.

If thats not possible at least pick up a copy of the Tree Climbers Companion its only like $15 from many of the sponsor sites above. I would not suggest going right into the Hitch Climber system unless money isnt an issue. You can start off with a $20 micro pully and a eye2eye. You may want to try something like the HRC 36" tied eye2eye you can try several differant friction hitches and retie the cord to differant lengths until you find what you like then buy a good spliced eye cord and maybe even step up to the hitch climber later.

Again be careful stay safe and go slow. Start off cutting with a handsaw until you get comfortable then move on.

Dont be afraid to come in here and ask questions you will get tons of good info, some BS and even a little greef but all and all this place is a priceless resource.

Oh yeah if you cant find anyone local I am sure someone here would be willing to come to Maui and teach you tons of cool stuff if you picked up the bill...

The line starts behind me :kilt::kilt::kilt::kilt::kilt::kilt:

Last edited: