Need some advices for milling

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bonvi

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I’m new here on this site and also new to the chainsaw milling industry.
English is not my first lenguaje so if something isn’t written good it’s because of that. Ok so let me begin:

Introduction:
My name is Leonardo, I’m 23 years old and I live in Central America. 2 years ago I bought my first portable sawmill so I have some experience milling wood. I have a husqvarna 272 that I sometimes use just to cut the logs to fit the sawmill. Last year I bought 10 logs that range from 40 to 60 inches in diameter and 3-4 meters long. They don’t fit in the sawmill since it only cuts 26 inches

The setup
I searched information online and I was thinking of buying a Husqvarna 3120xp since the Stihl 881 isn’t imported in my country.
I want to buy a 72 inch bar .404 and 1.6mm, (the brand is GB titanium pro top) with a replaceable sprocket with 11 tooth’s) with a hyper skip chain (27RX) for milling big wood. I was thinking of using an auxiliary oiler on the other end of the bar. (In this country you can use the old engine oil for lubrication of the bar, idk if anyone ever used it or if anyone has some advice for me)
I was also wanting to buy a 42 inch (same brand as the other) with also a hyper slip 27RX for smaller logs.

The logging:
Where i live there is a lot of wood of that size, 40-50-60 inches in diameter that won’t fit in a conventional sawmill, those types of trees are not hardwood nor softwood, they are intermediate. So for the big bar 72 I’ll just use it on those types of trees.
With the smaller bar I may also use it on harder wood, so i don’t really know if I should buy a hyperskip for the 42 in bar or just a normal skip tooth or even a semi skip, or a normal normal chain