Red Maple bark falling off

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LucyG

Reaction score
I bought my house 9 years ago but got married and moved out 5 years ago and have rented my house since. I am not very close and haven't been to the home often but my current tenant reported the bark has greatly separated from the tree trunk. I don't know if there is any ability to save it.

It's August and the tree is filled with green leaves. There are only a couple of dead branches and are all located in the same branch area. The previous owner reported it was a red maple. View attachment 309501

I have no background in this and don't want to cut the tree if I don't have to. Any assistance is greatly appreciated.View attachment 309497View attachment 309497

The tree needs to be looked at for structural problems. It's an old injury, you can see the callus roll trying to close over the wound. I'm more worried about the potential for decay in the trunk. The tree can be healthy (full of green leaves) and be structurally unsound.

What is the approx. diameter of the tree in the wound area - Looks like 8 - 10"?
Something damaged that side of the trunk - maybe within the last five years, maybe before that. What does the other side of the tree look like?
While it looks like it's trying to compartmentalize the wound, it will take several years yet. It will likely rot and weaken further before that. There is a chance it could blow over in a strong wind. Are there any targets nearby (house, shed, etc), do children or adults frequent the area?

Lost cause?