Wood furnace cracked. Break out the welder?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mustang71

Addicted to ArboristSite
. AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
So I have a daka wood furnace and I've never been very fond of it since I do hvac for a living and take out 50 year old systems that are more advanced than this thing. I found a Crack by the door today that started from one of their welds. It's 3 years old but the warranty says I have to pay freight to ship it back. I'm gonna call them tomorrow but I'm sure that's worthless. So do I weld it for this year and get something new over the summer if so what's an economical furnace since I only use it when I'm home and burn about 7 face chords a year?

I welded the light plate steel firebox on my Jensen furnace about 6 years ago. Still holding. Had never used a welder before.
Chances are whatever you do will be better than what they did ;)

just be sure to drill a 3/16" or a 1/4" hole on "both ends of the crack"---- "ahead of it" to prevent it from expanding from the welding!! once metal has a fracture or stress crack it's like glass and only continues to expand....

Alright I've been using my welder for over 10 years and I have a couple of them so hopefully I can get it fixed. I really think it was a bad weld on their part since that's where it cracked. I'd like a different furnace but figured this one would last at least 10 years. It heats the house even if half the heat goes out the flue lol