Maintenance

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lewis16

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
sorry if there is already a post for this but im quite desperate

i recently came across a dolmar hobby 100, it has no starter rope but we did try to drill start it but with no avvail, if anyone knows how to fix it let me know, or better, if anyone knows where i can get a new starter rope that would be excellent. The saw itslef is in good shape, the oil pump works and i couldnt find a primer bulb.
I am new to arborist site and have little experience with chainsaws.
I have this little saw to manage my small number of trees and i love it, it is the perfect weight and size, please help,
regards lewis

Go to any hardware store or place where they sell lawn equipment and they will have pull cord. As far as the saw goes, it needs three things to run, fuel/air/spark. Make sure it's getting a spark, if so then, make sure it's getting fuel (should smell it if it's not firing) and check your air filter. After that if it's not running my guess is the carb needs tuned or rebuilt. Good luck.

Go to any hardware store or place where they sell lawn equipment and they will have pull cord. As far as the saw goes, it needs three things to run, fuel/air/spark. Make sure it's getting a spark, if so then, make sure it's getting fuel (should smell it if it's not firing) and check your air filter. After that if it's not running my guess is the carb needs tuned or rebuilt. Good luck.

You forgot a very important factor.......compression.

update, weve fitted a starter rope and can pull start now, but she wont fire, no spark, could be the magneto, ht lead but the spark plug is good, i tested it in my brushcutter and she fired right up, any further advice?