Husqvarna 562xp wont idle?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have no experience with computer carbs. I got this and another one from a saw mechanic who works for Stihl, he's too busy to fix these, and sold them to me cheap. I really don't have any history on these. One has a mildly scored piston, but the one I tried to start tonight has a nice piston. I started it without a bar or air filter to see if it would fire up. It does!!, but it will only stay running if I keep a finger on the throttle. I can hold the trigger lightly and it will still run ( maybe 3500rpm ish?), but if I let go it will die. Any ideas about what to do next? I'm a little intimidated about working on the carb without supervision. I might be able to get it out ( maybe ), but not so sure I would be able to reinstall it. ( I'm better at tearing apart, than putting back together). Also, is this a 2021?IMG_4394.jpegIMG_4398.jpegIMG_4401.jpeg

Attachments

• IMG_4400.jpeg
    IMG_4400.jpeg
    3.5 MB · Views: 0
If you’re able to do so vac/pressure test the saw. Also pressure test carb. If both pass I’d say clean/rebuild carb and see where it stands from there.
I'm fairly intimidated about removing the carb to vaccum and pressure test the saw, especially if I can avoid it. Not sure avbout my ability to reinstall it. I know I can pressure test the carb from the fuel tank end . I had an idea of attempting a reset. Cant do it by letting it idle for 3 minutes, but I think I could put a bar/chain on it and attempt a 90 second ripping cut and a log. Do you think that could be worth a try? Thanks for any ideas, and I apologize for my wussiness when it comes to working on new fangled saws . ( I ain't a young whippersnapper any more ike most of you young strong fellas.)