Pondering the fate of my Stihl 025

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

torch

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I'm new to this site, google brought me here.

I have a Stihl 025 that I purchased new in the mid-90s (94? 95?). It has had a fairly easy life, generally cutting fallen trees obstructing the driveway or clearing a spot in the bush. Let's call it 10 hours a year for 20 years. Now that my sons have grown, they occasionally borrow it for their own use. #2 son recently returned it reporting that it wouldn't idle or restart when hot. While I have little experience with chain saw motors, I have extensive experience working on outboards and motorcycles, so I thought I'd have a look.

He'd been fiddling with the mixture screws trying to get it to run. It took a shot of quick-start, but I did get it running at full throttle. It was spitting fuel back out of the intake. I found he had the high speed screw backed out 6 turns! And the low speed 2.5 turns. I reset the high speed to 2.5 turns, cleaned the plug and managed to get it started again after many pulls. Much less fuel was spitting back out, but again, it wouldn't idle.