To Upgrade Craftsman Chainsaw or not

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Captain CaveMan

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi all, first post. I have been running a chainsaw now for 15 years. I started out as a casual cutter, and I still am just more serious about it. I Love to cut. I do have all the PPE as it is a chainsaw and anyone who doesn't take those precautions doesn't value life. I love the outdoors and live in a small town, anyhow I have been lurking here for years finally decided to join.

Here is my Situation. I own 2 saws, husqvarna 445 and a craftsman 42cc. I love my husqvarna, I wish I would have researched a bit more and went for the 450, but that will probably happen in the next year or so anyways.
I have learned owning saws becomes an addiction. I started out with a hand me down craftsman, and upgraded to my current craftsman 42cc 18" bar about 9 years ago.

I have run this saw as the sole saw for about 7 years. It has been pretty dependable I have always kept it tuned and running well, to this day it starts in 1 or 2 pulls. I have managed to wear a clutch drum sprocket out and while I was at it I replaced the clutch. Otherwise its untouched save for regular tuneups. The saw pulls really pretty good through wood. it has had the bar and chain upgraded long ago obviously as I learned more about saws I learned the shortcomings of that saw and did upgrade the cutting end.

My Husqvarna has become my primary saw and the craftsman the back up. I love the husqvarna and it has really opened my eyes to what better chainsaws can do. I like to carry 2 saws now when I cut so if i do encounter a problem I can put the one away and repair at home and just pull the other saw out. LOL this long winded story finally gets me to my question. I am considering moving to a new smaller backup saw...