372xp cylinder

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rhys272

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Bought this saw recently and silly me didn't check it over thoroughly. Guy said it was in perfect shape Yada Yada. Anyways turns out that there is major scoring on the piston, I have already ordered a meteor replacement. My big concern is in trying to salvage the cylinder, I am using muriatic acid and Scotch pads as well as 3000 grit sandpaper. Hoping you could give me your opinions on the cylinder condition since I have no real experience in this department. The attached pics are its current state after a bunch of acid and scrubbing sessions.

Attachments

• 20240623_181759.jpg
    20240623_181759.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 0
  • 20240623_181726.jpg
    20240623_181726.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 0
  • 20240623_181711.jpg
    20240623_181711.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 0
Always pull the muffler and check the piston when checking out a saw. The cylinder is borderline, for $230 you can get a brand new OEM piston and cylinder or you could use the one you have with that meteor piston and run it like that.

I'd be more concerned with what caused the scoring in the first place before installing a new cylinder on the saw .
Install new seals and do a P/V test before running it .

Ernie