Husky 55 oiler problem

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BIG

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
My wife's grandfather has a Husky 55 with an apparent oiler problem. This saw is only 3-4 years old and isn't run much. He ran the saw without oil and ruined a bar and chain. I got him a new 20" bar and chain and filled her up with oil. Checked and it seems to be oiling fine to me BEFORE I installed the new bar and chain. I blew all the old sawdust off around the clutch area and put on new bar and chain. He calls after running it only a little while and says sparks were flying off bar at bottom and doesn't think it's oiling. What could be the problem? He cross-threaded the oil cap and it leaks a minimal amount and can suck air - could this cause the problem? I am a beginner and need suggestions. Does the Husky 55 oil pump work off vacuum or a gear? Thanks.

Running a good pump without oil can damage them, and he probably did it for a while to ruin a bar.

I havent had the oiler apart on mine yet thank goodness, but check the easy stuff first like the filter in the tank and be sure you have the correct bar for the saw (oil hole on bar matches the one on the saw)

Get a new cap now since you need one anyways. They leak bad enough without it coming out the cap too

Bar is correct

It had the original Husky 20" bar that he ruined and now has a new one just like it. I know this rules out the bar. The oil holes in the bar are not blocked either.