Stihl 041AV carb

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Puzzled. I purchased this used a few years back. Not coming up to power and wanting to 4 cycle. Cleaned the filter with some improvement. Has fresh fuel with premium gas. I can only find one screw adjustment which appears to be nothing but the idle speed. Is this one of the EPA disaster carbs with no adjustments? I thought this saw was old enough not to be in the affected years. I have been using saws since 1976 so am not a novice.

Full ident is 041 AV SUPER electronic. The one screw is on the right side just below the filter cover.

Harry K:confused:

There should be two jet adjustment screws on the carb, usually on the same side as the idle adjustment screw. Not familiar with the 041, but virtually every 2-cycle engine I have ever seen had high and low end screw adjustments (untill the EPA screwed things up). When you find them, see the thread titled "Won't Idle" for a basic description on adjustment.

This saw is notorious for loose intake screws, as there is a
large stack of junk and gaskets at the carb. Also check the
fuel and impulse lines before resorting to carb adjustments.
Also check the innards of your fuel filter, as the foam inside
deteriorates over time and collects in the carb.

good point, Fish

:)
I forget that some people will go straight for the adjustment screws before looking for other causes of their problems. I wasn't thinking, just assuming that fuel lines, filters, intake mounting screws/bolts, etc. would be checked first. But I grew up in a service station so that stuff is second nature to me. I don't mess with carb adjustments untill I rule out most other causes first.

If the carb adjustment was fine last week, then it is probably fine today. Find the problem before creating a second problem!