Advice on a chain saw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wmargel

Reaction score
I need a chain saw to cut logs for firewood. I am not a professional; just a homeowner with a fireplace who wants to ease the task of cutting logs into fireplace size. I might use the saw a few time a year. I'm looking for advice on a good, dependable saw that will do this job. I don't know anything about this subject, but I did use a small electric chain saw (14 inch?) last year and it worked pretty good. Please give me some advice on a good saw to buy.

All depends on how you like your tools... Do you like to have the best no matter the cost? If so go get a Stihl or Husky saw in the 50-60cc range.
With the amount of use it sounds like you will putting on the saw I would proably head to home depot or lowes and buy a Poulan Pro, Echo, or a Husky if you can get one in the same price range.
Greg

I'd go as low as 45cc,but not below that, and buy from a good shop that can give the saw a checkup every season. Run the tank dry every time and don't neglect the regular maintenance. Keep the chain sharp and out of the dirt.

The Husqvarna 345 and 350 are good deals for less than $300, or better yet you may be able to find a model 55 for under 3 bills still.

If you want Stihl the 025 is ok, I think its $299 usually. DO NOT BUY AN 029

Check the "ECHO CS-510" !!! Great power and excellent filter system and great warrenty.Good product and a great deal for the buck !! But what ever you choose just remember,maintance and care and a good dealer backing the product will get ya years of great service.:cool: :D

It may be worth while to check that the saw you decide on runs .325 pitch chain, a lot of the smaler consumer saws run 3/8 low profile or extended pitch chains. I think a .325 chain has more to offer.