Pole Saw Head - Straight or Angled?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

computeruser

Addicted to ArboristSite
. AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
After losing out on a couple eBay Echo pole saws, it looks like I'm probably going to have to buy new unless Home Depot's rental department wants to cut me a good deal on a used Echo PPT. I've read all the threads about Echo PPT versus Stihl HT, HT versus KM, and HT 101 versus HT 131, but the one thing that seems to be missing is whether the angled head option that Stihl offers is an advantage worth paying for or whether it is something that should be avoided.

Since I'm new to the world of pole saws, I'll throw that question out to y'all: if I end up buying new, should I buy with the angled head or the standard straight head? I anticipate using the saw 90% of the time from the ground, and only occasionally from a bucket, a rooftop, or a ladder.

Thanks!

I use the straight head on ht75 which is fine most the time, but there are occasions when I wish that i had the angled head, mostly when im cutting at the upper limit of its reach. So i would probably go with angled if its mostly for ground use.

I suspect i might treat myself to one of the cannon bars listed on their website in the specialty section. this is an angled bar designed to fit on straight pole pruner, I would be keen to hear if anyone has used one?

After losing out on a couple eBay Echo pole saws, it looks like I'm probably going to have to buy new unless Home Depot's rental department wants to cut me a good deal on a used Echo PPT. I've read all the threads about Echo PPT versus Stihl HT, HT versus KM, and HT 101 versus HT 131, but the one thing that seems to be missing is whether the angled head option that Stihl offers is an advantage worth paying for or whether it is something that should be avoided.