Stihl 75 Pole Saw - No Spark no start!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Duke box

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I've been trying to repair / rebuild a ht 75 Pole Saw.

It has new:
Ignition module
Spark Plug
Carbi
And has been cleaned within an inch of it's life...but the b***** won't start.

I've figured out its not sparking.

So I've got a donor clapped out ht 75 engine and handle which sparks and fires up and switched the following parts around to try work out what the problem is...

Ignition module
Spark plug
I've even switched round the throttle/stop/start handle as i read on another post that the on off slide switch can sometimes be a problem..

But nothing! Still no Spark.

What am i missing? What else could it be?

Note: I'm an accountant by trade so you may have to dumb the responses down.
Cheers..

Have you checked the gap between the ignition pickups and the flywheel?
On those Stihl engines it needs to be set at 0.3mm. If you haven't got a feeler gauge of the correct thickness, an ordinary business card should do the trick, provided they don't print them on thinner or thicker paper Down Under. ;)

Have you checked the gap between the ignition pickups and the flywheel?
On those Stihl engines it needs to be set at 0.3mm. If you haven't got a feeler gauge of the correct thickness, an ordinary business card should do the trick, provided they don't print them on thinner or thicker paper Down Under. ;)
Hey there. Haven't tried the business car trick but I did Play around with different gaps and nothing worked. Not sure it's that.

I've managed to pull the ignition on and off the old donor engine and can still get that one to Spark.

Is it possible there's something wrong with the fly wheel?

Have you checked the on off switch? Mine was causing no spark...