What are ideal maintenance practices for preserving and maintaining a good working saw.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

purellbear37

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am an experienced chainsaw operator.

I am inexperienced in maintenance practices. I am as good as an owners manual.

I have 4 saws; I inherited 2 of my grandfathers chainsaws; one is 30 years old and the other 20 and they have been my go to saws. So far they have continued to run solid without any major issues.

I am looking for advice for practices that are beyond our manufacturers owner's manual. Genral tips would be great. I have some specifics below.

- Long term storage? FYI I have not done this as much I use my saws regularly.
...- From various owner's manuals, I've read; empty the gas, keep it filled, remove spark plug and pour two stroke directly into the cylinder and pull rope, disconnect all hose's or electrical connections, and other misc. I would like clarification.

- When to change out a sprocket?

- How to clean carbon out of cylinder, piston, and muffler.

Thank you all.

Long term storage, fill with non Ethanol fuel with 2 stoke oil in it, run it to get into carb ,then put away The sprocket is replaced when it shows wear. Keep the chain sharp and the bar groove and oiler hole in the bar free of dirt. Blow the air filter off with air as needed. De carbon is rarely needed.

Another alternative for long term storage or saws (any equipment that gets infrequent use) is canned fuel. It keeps for a long time .

The single most important rule is always have fresh fuel with the proper oil mix.

Second is keep your chain sharp and properly tensioned.

Third is to look you equipment over carefully after each use for any signs of damage, loose fasteners, broken/missing pieces, etc. A good cleaning before you put it away will reveal many lurking issues.

Mark