New Guy-- Needle bearing maintenance

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

soybean

Reaction score
Hello! I've been a lurker for awhile and I'm stepping up with a newbie type question. My background is limited with chainsaws, but, I'm coming up to speed by taking in all the good info here. We purchased 70 acres in N. Missouri that is 85% woods, ( Wht Oak, Hickory, Walnut ). I started off with a little Husky 141 from a farm type box store. I soon realized I was undergunned. After I discovered this forum and started reading the archives I bought a 372xp. I've really enjoyed using the larger saw. With the help of the Husky SharpForce I've gotten to be able to sharpen a chain o.k. I decided it would be nice to have a little lighter midrange saw and the UPS guy delivered a 357xp today. My question is about Outboard vs inboard clutch design. The Husky manual states that you should grease the needle bearings of the sprocket regularly (once a week). On the 372xp it is so easy for a newcomer to chainsaws, to remove the c type clip and pop off the sprocket and access the needle bearings. How does one do this type of maintenance with the outboard clutch of the 357xp? What type of equipment is required? There is a little grease gun that comes with the new saws. I've always assumed it was just for greasing the nose sprocket on the bar. With the 372xp I just pumped some grease out and worked it into the needle bearings Can you use the grease gun to grease the needle bearings of the 357xp just by sticking it in the small hole in the center of the clutch drum? I have done quite a bit of reading here, and other places on the net, and have learned of the necessity of Safety equipment and never attempt things that I'm not comfortable with in the woods. By buying through the internet, I have cheated myself of the knowledge of a good dealer. I honestly never found one in my neck